Coming Soon...   Coming Soon...  
Share and metal prices

Loading Stocks Info...

Governance structure
      - Executive management
      - Board committees
Business conduct
Principal risks


Management profiles

Executive Directors
Non-executive Directors

Executive Directors


Ben Magara (47) (Zimbabwean)

Chief Executive Officer
Ben joined the Company and Board as Chief Executive on 1 July 2013. He is a graduate Mining Engineer from the University of Zimbabwe and has attended various management programmes including the Accelerated Development Programme at the London Business School, UK and the AMP at GIBS, SA. Ben has extensive mining experience in both underground and surface mining as well as soft and hard rock mining. He also has experience in the energy and logistics industries. Ben was the Chief Executive Officer of Anglo Coal South Africa and the Executive Head responsible for Engineering and Capital Projects at Anglo Platinum. Ben was previously a director of Anglo American South Africa (2006 – 2013) and was Chairman of Richards Bay Coal Terminal and the Eskom 2008 Coal Working Group. He is also the Chairman of the Board of Trustees at St Peters Prep School Foundation. He is a Zimbabwean national.

Simon Scott (56) (British and South African)

Chief Financial Officer
Simon joined Lonmin and the Board in September 2010, became CFO in November 2010 and was Acting CEO during the period 24 August 2012 to 30 June 2013. He is a graduate with accounting and commerce degrees from the University of the Witwatersrand, and has also attended the management development program at the University of Cape Town. A South African registered chartered accountant, he has held a number of financial management roles in South Africa with local and global employers including over eight years with Anglo American. Most recently he was CFO of the JSE-listed Aveng Limited, a globally active engineering and construction group with significant involvement in the mining sector. Simon is both a British and a South African national.

Ben Moolman (53) (South African)

Chief Operating Officer
Ben joined Lonmin in August 2014 to head up our newly established Business Support Office, was promoted to Chief Operating Officer in March 2015 and was subsequently appointed to the Board in June 2015. He has thirty years of mining experience including 10 years at Glencore Xstrata where he rose to Managing Director of their platinum division with responsibility for the value chain across all mining and processing operations,10 years at Lonmin where he headed up mining operations at Karee and 10 years at Impala. Ben holds a BSc in Engineering (Mining) from the University of the Witwatersrand and several management qualifications obtained at various international institutions. Ben is a South African national.

Non-executive Directors


Brian Beamish (57) (British and South African)

Brian was appointed to the Board with effect from 1 November 2013. Following his appointment as chairman on an interim basis effective 1 May 2014, Brian's appointment as chairman was confirmed on a permanent basis on 21 July 2014. Brian was formerly Group Director, Mining and Technology at Anglo American where he worked for 36 years. He was also a non-executive director of JSE-listed Anglo American Platinum Limited from May 2010 to 30 September 2013. His previous executive roles included four years as Operations Director of Anglo Platinum and working as COO and subsequently CEO of Anglo American's global Base Metals business. A graduate in mechanical engineering from Wits University and of the PMD programme at Harvard Business School, he has career long experience of the mining industry, largely gained in operational roles in South Africa and latterly in other parts of the world, particularly South America. He is both a British and South African national.

Jim Sutcliffe (58) (British)

Independent Non-Executive Director
Jim was appointed to the Board in 2007 and is chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination and Social, Ethics & Transformation Committees. He was appointed Senior Independent Director at the 2012 AGM. An actuary by profession, Jim has extensive UK and South African business experience, including senior executive roles with Prudential UK and Old Mutual, being Group CEO of the latter from 2001 – 2008. He is a director of the Financial Reporting Council Limited where he chairs the Codes and Standards Committee and is also a director of Liberty Group and Liberty Holdings, and chairman of Sun Life Financial. Jim is a British citizen.

Dr Len Konar (60) (South African)

Independent Non-Executive Director
Appointed to the Board in 2010, Len chairs the Audit & Risk Committee and Social, Ethics & Transformation Committee and is a member of the Nomination Committee. Len holds degrees in accounting and commerce from South African and U.S. universities. After qualifying as a chartered accountant, he pursued an academic career at the University of Durban-Westville, before moving into commercial roles. He now has a broad ranging business career, chairing the boards of leading South African companies including Exxaro Resources and Steinhoff International and serving on the boards of others including Sappi and Alexander Forbes. A member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance, he is also a member of the Corporate Governance Forum and the Institute of Directors. Len is a South African national.

Jonathan Leslie (63) (British)

Independent Non-Executive Director
Jonathan was appointed to the Board in 2009, chairs the Safety, Health & Environment Committee, and is a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees. After graduating in jurisprudence and qualifying as a barrister, Jonathan spent 26 years with Rio Tinto, including nine years' service on its board. His roles at Rio Tinto included Mining Director and Chief Executive of the Copper and later the Diamonds & Gold Product Groups. He was subsequently CEO of Sappi, the executive chairman of Nikanor and CEO of Extract Resources Limited. Jonathan is a British national.

Varda Shine (51) (British)

Independent Non-Executive Director
Varda was appointed to the Board in February 2015 and is a member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination and Remuneration Committees. Varda has completed the Business Management Programme at Technion, the Israel Institute of Technology and the Advanced Management Programme at Oxford University. Over a period of 30 years she held several executive level and managerial positions within De Beers Trading Company and Diamdel Israel (De Beers’ principal trading subsidiary) before subsequently serving eight years as the CEO of De Beers Trading Company. Varda has also held two non-executive positions chairing joint ventures between De Beers and the Botswanan and Namibian governments respectively.
Accessibility Terms of use Disclaimer Privacy Statement

"All rights reserved (c) 2011 LONMIN " "Registered in England & Wales, No. 1003002. "